The Order of the Scarlet Mantle

 scarlet mantle logo

The Order of the Scarlet Mantle is appendant to the Masonic Order of Athelstan and has its own Statutes. It was created as a separate reward-based Order for meritorious service by members of the Order of Athelstan.

 Knights are installed or promoted in a ceremony commemorative of the Knighting of Athelstan by King Alfred the Great in and around the year 898 (the first recorded making of a Knight in England). It is stated that Athelstan, upon being knighted was given a 'Scarlet Mantle and a Sword with a golden hilt and a scarlet mantle bedecked with jewels'. Members bear the initials of Knight of the Scarlet Mantle (KSM), Knight Commander of the Scarlet Mantle (KCSM) or Grand Cross of the Scarlet Mantle (GCSM) after their name and naturally can only use this in the context of the Masonic Order of Athelstan.

The Order is administered by a Grand High Chancellor following his appointment by the Most Worshipful Grand Master. A small number of Grand Chancellors are also appointed to assist the Grand High Chancellor. Accolades normally take place on an annual basis immediately prior to the annual meeting of the Grand Court.



Grand High Chancellor RWBro Dr Christopher WG Ansell GCSM
Past Grand High Chancellor MWBro Paul W Johnston GCSM
Past Grand High Chancellor RWBro David Buxton CofM GCSM
Grand Chancellors RWBro Dr. John B Lloyd CofM GCSM
  RWBro Arthur R Macken GCSM
  RWBro D Allen Surratt GCSM
  RWBro Madhavan Chellappa GCSM
  RWBro Jose G Mendoza GCSM
Past Grand Chancellors RWBro Stephen Hindes GCSM
  RWBro Ganshyam Patel GCSM
Knights Grand Cross of the Scarlet Mantle RWBro Arthur Craddock (Hwicce)
  RWBro John Paternoster (Essex)
  RWBro A Roy Foster (East Anglia)
  RWBro Frank M Jefferies (Australia)
  RWBro Howard Doe (Kent)
  RWBro Malcolm J Burns (Wessex)
  RWBro Raymond N Dinning CofM (Lindsey)
  RWBro George Creamer (Essex)
  RWBro Brian Prevett (Sussex)
  RWBro Benjamin Addy (Magonsaetan)
  VWBro Anthony Burke (Lindsey)
  RWBro Roy W Leavers (Sussex)
  VWBro John D Watts (Northumbria)
  RW&EmBro Ronald C Black (Lindsey)
  RWBro Derek Broderick (Lindsey)
  RWBro Bryce Brent Hildreth (USA)
  RWBro David Hargett jr (USA)
Knights Commander of the Scarlet Mantle RWBro H John Emms (Essex)
  VWBro James M B Buchanan (Australia)
  VWBro M David Parkes-Bowen (Mercia)
  VWBro Michael V Eckley (Magonsaetan)
  WBro Donald Gunner (Australia)
  VWBro Brian G Wright (Wessex)
  RWBro Robert W Chilvers (Hwicce)
  WBro Mervyn Western (Wessex)
  WBro Owen F Vickers (Australia)
  RWBro William H Carlyon (Lindsey)
  RWBro Shaun B Crutchley (Magonsaetan)
  WBro Derek Dunn (Lindsey)
  RWBro BV Epur (S India)
  VWBro Ian Scott (Northumbria)
  RWBro Richard L Elkington (Australia)
  VWBro Edward G Casey (Northumbria)
  WBro Edward Allcock (Mercia)
Knights of the Scarlet Mantle

WBro Michael G Langley (Mercia) WBro Robert Brown (Australia)
VWBro Donald P Dezentje (Australia) WBro Terry Aldridge (Lindsey)
WBro Colin Boughton (Australia) Bro John Hess (USA)
WBro Robert C Barnes (Australia) VWBro Nicholas Le Grys (East Anglia)
WBro Donald N Gerling (Australia) WBro Rienhard Amende (Wessex)
VWBro Herbert F Mailey (Australia) WBro John Barnett (Mercia)
WBro Stanley Harriman (Mercia) WBro Ian Dixon (Northumbria)
WBro Stanley Smith (Essex) WBro Michael Ellis (Sussex)
RWBro Ralph J Wheeler (Hwicce) WBro Philip Freedman (Hwicce)
VWBro Stephen J Turner (Kent) WBro Adrian Friend (Kent)
WBro Robert M Henderson (Northumbria) WBro Ray Hudson (Kent)
WBro Warren M C Jones (Magonsaetan) WBro Andre Lovas (USA)
RWBro Jeffery L Conway (Essex) WBro David Perkins (Wessex)
WBro Michael C Burrell (Australia) WBro Brian Thornhill (Mercia)
WBro Terence Bowler (Kent) WBro K Venkatachalam (S India)
WBro Raymond Flowers (Magonsaetan) WBro Justice Devinder Gupta (N India)
VWBro Thomas W Urwin (Lindsey) WBro Ramesh Khetani (Lindsey)
RWBro Brian Vickers (Essex) WBro Jyothy Kumar (S India) (designate)
RWBro John H Wickes (Hwicce) WBro Christopher Wallace (Australia)
RWBro V Nagarajan (India) WBro Peter Ronan (Lindsey)
RWBro R K Daruwalla (India) WBro Paul Deakin (Hwicce)
WBro A Edward Stark (Australia) WBro Keith Waters (Wessex)
WBro Martin Bates (East Anglia) RWBro Noel Grout (Sussex)
RWBro Ed Fowler (USA) WBro Christopher Cradock (Sussex)
WBro J Stephen Priestley (Lindsey) RWBro Lionel Mee (Sussex)
WBro Paul Mycock (Hwicce) Bro Robert Tuthill (Sussex)
RWBro Matthew Dupee (USA) WBro Matthew Bainbridge (Lindsey)
WBro David C Ladd (USA) WBro Charles Barrett (Kent)
WBro A Schmidt (USA) (designate) WBro Craig Brown (Lindsey)
WBro Jack Lester (USA) (designate) WBro Arvind Chitra (S India) (designate)
VWBro Douglas Abbott (Essex) WBro Mark P Donovan (Sussex)
VWBro Roger O'Brien (Kent) WBro John Evans (Magonsaetan)
WBro Alan Davidson (Northumbria) WBro Gerald Foulger (East Anglia)
WBro John E Goldstone (East Anglia) WBro John C W Hickman (Sussex)
WBro John Klaus (USA) WBro Graham S Johnston (Mercia)
WBro Peter MacIntyre (Kent) WBro Ruben Levy (USA) (designate)
WBro Bryan Ogden (Magonsaetan) RWBro Christopher G Maiden (Wessex)
WBro Alan Trotter (Sussex) WBro Bryan E Miller (Australia) (designate)
Bro Melvyn Herbert (Lindsey) WBro Stephen Norman (East Anglia)
Bro Jim Kontzle (Northumbria) RWBro Anthony D Parkinson (Mercia)
WBro Alan Smith (Magonsaetan) RWBro David Railson (Northumbria)

des, designate = awaits Installation.